Skip to content
Skip to content
Open navigation

ANCC Announces 2023 Margretta Madden Styles President’s Award Winner: Dr. Patricia E. Benner


Silver Spring, MD - Today, the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) presented its prestigious Margretta Madden Styles President’s Award to Patricia Benner, PhD, RN, FAAN. The award recognizes her exceptional accomplishments, leadership, and revolutionary impact on nursing practice and on society as a whole. The award was conferred at the 2023 co-located ANCC National Magnet Conference® and the ANCC Pathway to Excellence Conference® in Chicago.

“Dr. Patricia Benner is one of a few trailblazers in the nursing profession. Her research and expertise on nursing practice are legendary,” said ANCC President Rhonda Anderson, DNSc(h), MPA, BS, RN, LFACHE, FAAN. “It is my tremendous privilege to bestow this honor on Dr. Benner for her exemplary work and dedication to health care and the nursing profession.”

Dr. Benner is a renowned nursing theorist, academic, and author who has had a significant impact on nursing practice through her innovative approaches and thought leadership. With a career that spans seven decades, Dr. Benner has served in almost every role from staff nurse, head nurse, project director, acclaimed professor, renowned author, to ambitious nurse executive and respected company co-founder. She is especially known for her books, “From Novice to Expert: Excellence and Power in Clinical Nursing Practice” and “The Primacy of Caring.”  These books have become the basis for developing clinical promotion programs in hospitals based on Dr. Benner’s skill acquisition model, which held that a nurse’s educational background is only part of their training and that expertise gained through practice was just as significant. This was a revolutionary theory that transformed contemporary nursing practice. Peers and colleagues have drawn parallels between Dr. Benner and the award namesake for her pioneering spirit and innovative thinking. And just like Dr. Styles, Dr. Benner was named a Living Legend of the American Academy of Nursing in 2011. 

The Margretta Madden Styles President’s Award recognizes exceptional leaders who have partnered with the ANCC president to advance the mission, vision, and strategic goals of the American Nurses Credentialing Center. Honorees are selected by the ANCC president, and the award is given every year at the conference.


About the American Nurses Credentialing Center
The mission of the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), a subsidiary of the American Nurses Association, is to promote excellence in nursing and health care globally through credentialing programs. ANCC's internationally renowned credentialing programs certify and recognize individual nurses in specialty practice areas. ANCC recognizes health care organizations that promote nursing excellence and quality patient outcomes while providing safe, positive work environments. In addition, ANCC accredits health care organizations that provide and approve continuing nursing education and accredits transition-to-practice programs that prepare nurses for new practice roles. For more information about ANCC, visit us at and follow us on Twitter. ANCC is the only nurse credentialing organization to successfully achieve ISO 9001: 2015 certification.

Item(s) added to cart

Go to cart Continue Shopping