Skip to content
Skip to content
Open navigation

ANA Announces 2018 National Awards Recipients

Tamiko Murray, 301-628-5161

Joan Hurwitz, 301-628-5020

SILVER SPRING, MD – The American Nurses Association (ANA) today announced its 2018 National Awards recipients. ANA’s National Awards honor outstanding nurses whose dedication and achievements have contributed significantly to the nursing profession.

This year’s 12 honorees include two registered nurses who will be inducted into ANA’s Hall of Fame, and ten registered nurses who will receive Honorary Awards. A ceremony to honor the 12 award recipients will be held on Friday, June 22, at the Washington Hilton in Washington, D.C., during ANA’s Membership Assembly.

ANA is honored to celebrate the extraordinary achievements of these nurses, who are exemplary leaders and advocates, and whose contributions have advanced nursing and demonstrated ANA’s impact on improving health care for all.

Hall of Fame Award

ANA established the nursing Hall of Fame Award to recognize individual nurses’ significant commitments to the nursing field and their impact on the health and social history of the United States. ANA first inducted recipients into the Hall of Fame in 1976.

ANA is honored to induct two Hall of Fame Award recipients for 2018:

  • Barbara J. Drew, PhD, MS, RN, ANA\California 
  • Marie Louise Fitzpatrick, EdD, RN, FAAN, Pennsylvania State Nurses Association

Dr. Barbara Drew’s cardiovascular nursing research has brought valuable improvements to patient care and nursing scholarship. Her 30 years of research and publication work, focused on cardiac monitoring, has led to major changes in the clinical care of patients with heart disease. Dr. Drew has demonstrated an extraordinary commitment to furthering excellence in nursing science. In her work with organizations, she has often moved them toward more productive interdisciplinary goals and to the adoption of clinical guidelines that reflect nursing research and the concerns of clinical nurses.

The late Dr. Marie Louise Fitzpatrick was a visionary leader and champion for the nursing profession, international health care and nursing education. Dr. Fitzpatrick was the Connelly Endowed Dean and Professor of the College of Nursing at Villanova University – a position she held for nearly 40 years. Under her leadership, Villanova’s College of Nursing was created and developed into a premier nursing program. She expanded the college’s academic programs, including initiating the master’s and doctoral programs, as well as an accelerated BSN program for second-degree students. Dr. Fitzpatrick developed distance learning strategies and clinical simulation initiatives with a focus on scholarship and research.


Honorary Award

The Honorary Award recipients are highly accomplished registered nurse leaders and will be honored for their outstanding service to the profession in categories ranging from public health to patient advocacy to legislative successes.

The Honorary Award recipients are:

    • Gale Adcock, MSN, RN, FNP-BC, FAANP, FAAN
      North Carolina Nurses Association
      The Barbara Thoman Curtis Award recognizes significant contributions to nursing practice and health policy through political and legislative activity.
    • Marilyn D. Harris, MSN, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN
      Pennsylvania State Nurses Association
      The Distinguished Membership Award recognizes outstanding leadership and contributions to the mission of ANA.
    • Michael J. Rice, PhD, APN, RN, FAAN
      Colorado Nurses Association
      The Hildegard Peplau Award honors contributions to nursing practice through a lifetime of scholarly activities, clinical practice and policy development directed toward the psychosocial and psychiatric aspects of nursing care delivery.
    • Valerie Aarne Grossman, MALS, BSN, RN, NE-BC
      ANA-New York
      The Honorary Nursing Practice Award acknowledges a registered nurse who is directly involved in patient care who receives recognition by peers for their contribution to the advancement of nursing through strength of character, commitment and competence.
    • Peggy L. Chinn, PhD, RN, FAAN
      The Honorary Human Rights Award recognizes the outstanding commitment to human rights and exemplifying the essence of nursing's philosophy about humanity.
    • Joyce Fitzpatrick, PhD, MBA, RN, FAAN, FNAP
      Ohio Nurses Association
      The Jessie M. Scott Award is named after the American nurse who served as the Assistant Surgeon General and directed the nursing division of the U.S. Public Health Service, which is now known as the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. The award recognizes a nurse who has made an outstanding accomplishment in a field of practice, education, or research and demonstrates the interdependence of these elements and their significance for the improvement of nursing and health care.
    • Richard Henker, PhD, RN, FAAN
      Pennsylvania State Nurses Association
      The Luther Christman Award recognizes the contributions that an individual man in nursing has made to the profession of nursing.
    • Paula K. Anderson, RN 
      Ohio Nurses Association
      The Mary Ellen Patton Staff Nurse Leadership Award was established to recognize an individual staff nurse who has made significant contributions to the professional advancement of staff nurses and who has demonstrated leadership in the nursing profession.
    • Jacquelyn Y. Taylor, PhD, PNP-BC, RN, FAHA, FAAN
      ANA Massachusetts
      The Mary Mahoney Award recognizes significant contributions, by an individual nurse or a group of nurses, to integration within the nursing profession.
    • Alexandra L. Wubbels, BSN, RN
      Utah Nurses Association
      The Staff Nurse Patient Advocacy Award recognizes staff nurse advocates— the heroines and heroes on the front lines— for providing direct patient care in all practice settings and who have advocated for their patients.

# # # 

The American Nurses Association (ANA) is the premier organization representing the interests of the nation's 4 million registered nurses. ANA advances the nursing profession by fostering high standards of nursing practice, promoting a safe and ethical work environment, bolstering the health and wellness of nurses, and advocating on health care issues that affect nurses and the public. ANA is at the forefront of improving the quality of health care for all. For more information, visit

For high-resolution images of the ANA logo or photos of ANA leadership, please click here.

Item(s) added to cart

Go to cart Continue Shopping