Skip to content
Skip to content
Open navigation

ANA Announces 2024 National Award Winners


SILVER SPRING, MD  – The American Nurses Association (ANA) today announced the recipients of its 2024 National Awards, which recognize outstanding nurses and champions for their vital contributions to the nursing profession and health care. ANA will hold a ceremony on June 27 in Washington, D.C. to celebrate the extraordinary achievements of these nurses, who are exemplary leaders and advocates, and whose contributions have advanced nursing and demonstrated ANA’s impact on improving health care for all.


The Hall of Fame Award recognizes nurses for their commitment to the nursing field and their impact on the health and social history of the United States.

  • Beverly Malone, PhD, RN, FAAN, National League for Nursing


The Distinguished Direct Patient Care Award recognizes an individual registered nurse who provides exemplary patient care and contributes to the advancement of nursing practice.

  • Jerico Alicante, BSN, RN, FISQua, ANA\California 
  • Leticia Escalante, BSN, RN, ANA\California 
  • Arlyn Labtis, MSN, RN, PCCN, CMSRN, ANA-Illinois 
  • Janette Richardson, MSN, RN, AGCNS-BC, CCRN, Indiana State Nurses Association 

The Early Career Nurse Leader Award recognizes an emerging member of the nursing profession for significant accomplishments and contributions.

  • Josephine Agyei, BSN, RN, ANA-New York 
  • Raya Cupler, MPA, BSN, RN, ANA-Ohio

The Foundations of Nursing Practice Award recognizes an individual registered nurse for outstanding accomplishments in nursing research, nursing education, or nursing practice.

  • Mary Jane Genuino, DNP, RN-BC, New Jersey State Nurses Association

The Public Health Service Award recognizes the outstanding contribution by an individual to public health.

  • Barbara Russell, RN, BSHSA, MPH, CIC, FAPIC, Florida Nurses Association


The Advocacy Award recognizes an individual registered nurse who embraces the role of advocate as part of his/her professional identity.

  • Ahnyel Burkes, DNP, RN-BC, NEA-BC, Louisiana State Nurses Association
  • Gilanie DeCastro, BSN, RN, OCN, NE-BC, CNML, ANA\California


The Champion of Nursing Award recognizes the contributions of an extraordinary leader or organization who is not a member of the nursing profession. 

  • Daniel Oerther, PhD, PE, BCEE, CEHS, DLAAS, ANEF(H), FAAN(h) 


The Luther Christman Award recognizes substantial contributions made by an individual man in nursing to the profession in the areas of practice, research, education, public policy, and/or community service.

  • William Rosa, PhD, MBE, AGPCNP-BC, FAANP, FPCN, FAAN, ANA-New York 
  • Nelson Tuazon, DNP, DBA, RN, NEA-BC, CENP, CPHQ, CPPS, FNAP, FACHE, FAAN, Texas Nurses Association 

The Mary Mahoney Award recognizes significant contributions, made by an individual registered nurse or a group of registered nurses, to integration within the nursing profession.

  • Nancy Atmospera-Walch, DNP, MPH, MCHES, LNHA, CCHN, CMC, BSN FN, FAAN, Hawai'i-ANA


TheAmerican Nurses Association(ANA) is the premier organization representing the interests of the nation's more than 5 million registered nurses. ANA advances the profession by fostering high standards of nursing practice, promoting a safe and ethical work environment, bolstering the health and wellness of nurses, and advocating on health care issues that affect nurses and the public. ANA is at the forefront of improving the quality of health care for all. For more information,

Item(s) added to cart

Go to cart Continue Shopping