Skip to content
Skip to content
Open navigation

ANCC Practice Transition Accreditation Program® Announces First Dually Recognized Industry-Recognized Apprenticeship Programs (IRAPs) Transition-to-Practice Programs


Zachary Levine

Keziah Proctor

Silver Spring, MD— The American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) Practice Transition Accreditation Program® (PTAP) is proud to announce the inaugural group of 126 dually recognized Industry-Recognized Apprenticeship Programs (IRAPs) transition-to-practice programs—the greatest number in the nation. Developed by the US Department of Labor (DOL) IRAPs are new, industry-driven and customizable apprenticeships that provide individuals with opportunities to obtain relevant workplace knowledge and progressively advance skills.

These 126 programs are among the first transition-to-practice programs for registered nurses (RNs) and advanced practice registered nurses (APRNs) to benefit from these specialized programs that focus on preceptorship, mentorship, and supervision that comes from participating in an IRAP. As a Standards Recognition Entity (SRE), ANCC PTAP will ensure that these programs that are consistent with DOL standards for IRAPs.

“As an SRE, we’ve worked hard to develop industry-recognized and consensus-based standards that identify critical skills for the nursing workforce” said ANCC PTAP Director Sheri Cosme, DNP, RN, NPD-BC. “IRAP-designated programs that have met these standards will help define the future of nurse-focused transition-to-practice programs and ensure that the nursing profession has enough skilled talent to meet patients’ needs. We are delighted to announce this initial group and believe they are a harbinger of great things to come.”

View the full list of dually recognized IRAP Transition to Practice Programs here.

The DOL Office of Apprenticeship has designated ANCC PTAP an SRE. ANCC PTAP was among an inaugural cohort of only 18 organizations recognized as SREs by the DOL to bolster high-quality IRAPs.


About the American Nurses Credentialing Center Practice Transition Accreditation Program

The American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) Practice Transition Accreditation Program ®(PTAP) sets the global standard for residency or fellowship programs that transition registered nurses (RNs) and advanced practice registered nurses (APRNs) into new practice settings. ANCC accredits the following types of transition programs, such as RN Residencies, RN fellowships, and APRN fellowships. Using ANCC evidence-based criteria, nurses can advance to new practice settings.

About the American Nurses Credentialing Center
American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), part of the ANA Enterprise, leads the profession to shape the future of nursing and health care. ANCC's internationally renowned credentialing programs certify and recognize individual nurses in specialty practice areas. ANCC recognizes healthcare organizations that promote nursing excellence and quality patient outcomes while providing safe, positive work environments. In addition, ANCC accredits healthcare organizations that provide and approve continuing nursing education and accredits transition-to-practice programs that prepare nurses for new practice roles. For more information about ANCC, visit us at visit us at and follow us on Twitter. ANCC is the only nurse credentialing organization to successfully achieve ISO 9001: 2015 certification. The ANA Enterprise is the family of organizations that is composed of the American Nurses Association (ANA), the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), and the American Nurses Foundation.

Item(s) added to cart

Go to cart Continue Shopping