Skip to content
Skip to content
Open navigation

ANA's Membership Assembly Re-Elects Ernest Grant as National President


Shannon McClendon



Keziah Proctor



SILVER SPRING, MD – Ernest J. Grant, PhD, RN, FAAN, has been re-elected to a second term as the American Nurses Association’s (ANA) national President. The voting representatives of ANA's Membership Assembly also elected four members to the 9-member board of directors. Terms of service will begin January 1, 2021.

“It is with great pride, duty and purpose that I serve nurses, represent nurses, and advocate on behalf of nurses nationwide,” said Dr. Grant. “Throughout history, nurses have responded to every public health crisis, marched for civil rights and provided patients and communities optimal care. As our nation grapples with the COVID-19 pandemic, racism and health inequities, nurses are once again demonstrating the resolve, compassion and undisputed skill that defines our distinguished profession. Undoubtedly, the “Year of the Nurse” looks much different than we had expected. We have experienced tremendous loss, but we are resilient, and we will emerge even stronger. I am forever proud to be a nurse and to serve our profession in the company of other great leaders.”

These ANA members were elected to serve on the board of directors: Director-At-Large Brienne Sandow, MSN, RN, NEA-BC, of the Idaho Nurses Association; Director-At-Large, Staff Nurse Amanda Buechel, BSN, RN, CCRN, of ANA-Illinois.

The following ANA board members were re-elected: Secretary Stephanie Pierce, PhD, MN, RN, CNE, of the Louisiana State Nurses Association; Director-At-Large Jennifer Gil, BSN, RN, of the New Jersey State Nurses Association.

Those continuing their terms on the ANA board in 2021 are: Vice President Susan Y. Swart, EdD, MS, RN, CAE of ANA-Illinois; Treasurer Jennifer Mensik Kennedy, PhD, MBA, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN of the Oregon Nurses Association; Director-at-Large Jeff Watson, DNP, RN, NEA-BC, of the Texas Nurses Association; Director-at-Large, Recent Graduate Marcus Henderson, MSN, BSN, RN of the of the Pennsylvania State Nurses Association.

Elected to serve on the Nominations and Elections Committee are: Amanda Foster, BSN, RN, of the Arizona Nurses Association; Tonisha Melvin, DNP, CRRN, NP-C, of the Georgia Nurses Association; Marylee Pakieser, MSN.RN.FNP-BC, of ANA-Michigan.

# # # 

The American Nurses Association (ANA) is the premier organization representing the interests of the nation's 4 million registered nurses. ANA advances the nursing profession by fostering high standards of nursing practice, promoting a safe and ethical work environment, bolstering the health and wellness of nurses, and advocating on health care issues that affect nurses and the public. ANA is at the forefront of improving the quality of health care for all. For more information, visit

For high-resolution images of the ANA logo or photos of ANA leadership, please click here.

Item(s) added to cart

Go to cart Continue Shopping