Skip to content
Skip to content
Open navigation

ANCC Announces 2019 Margretta Madden Styles President’s Award Winner: Dr. Pamela F. Cipriano

SILVER SPRING, MD—The American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) today presented its prestigious Margretta Madden Styles President’s Award to Pamela F. Cipriano, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN. The award recognizes her outstanding service to the ANA Enterprise as ANA President and ANCC Board Member, and her international influence as First Vice President of the International Council of Nurses (ICN). The award was given at the ANCC National Magnet Conference in Orlando.

“Dr. Cipriano’s inclusive, transparent, and visionary leadership advanced the goals of the ANA Enterprise, and ANCC in particular, in meaningful ways,” said ANCC President Patricia Reid Ponte, DNSc, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN. “In addition, her service with the ICN provided critical international guidance for ANCC. Her strong advocacy for the nursing profession and healthcare reform has advanced the role and visibility of nurses worldwide. It is an honor to recognize her achievements with this well-deserved award.”

Dr. Cipriano was recently appointed the Sadie Heath Cabaniss Professor and Dean of the University of Virginia (UVA) School of Nursing in Charlottesville, VA. Before that, she was a member of the school’s research faculty.

Her 40+-year career in nursing has focused on improving the quality and safety of services and the work environment for staff. She has extensive experience as an academic medical center executive and served for nine years as Chief Clinical Officer/Chief Nursing Officer in the UVA Health System, where she was responsible for all inpatient and outpatient clinical services. Under her leadership, the health system earned its first ANCC Magnet Recognition® in 2006.

Dr. Cipriano holds a BSN from The American University in Washington, DC, and a PhD in executive nursing administration from the University of Utah’s College of Nursing in Salt Lake City. She is a Fellow of the American Academy of Nursing.

The Margretta Madden Styles President’s Award recognizes exceptional leaders who have partnered with the ANCC president to advance the mission, vision, and strategic goals of the American Nurses Credentialing Center. Honorees are selected by the ANCC president rather than by a committee, and the award is given only when the recognition is warranted. Past recipients include those who have enhanced nurse professionalism and helped make ANCC the premier credentialing organization it is today.


About ANCC
The mission of the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), a subsidiary of the American Nurses Association, is to promote excellence in nursing and healthcare globally through credentialing programs. ANCC's internationally renowned credentialing programs certify and recognize individual nurses in specialty practice areas. ANCC recognizes healthcare organizations that promote nursing excellence and quality patient outcomes while providing safe, positive work environments. In addition, ANCC accredits healthcare organizations that provide and approve continuing nursing education, and accredits transition-to-practice programs that prepare nurses for new practice roles. For more information about ANCC, visit us at and follow us on Twitter. ANCC is the only nurse credentialing organization to successfully achieve ISO 9001: 2015 certification.

Item(s) added to cart

Go to cart Continue Shopping