Skip to content
Skip to content
Open navigation

ANCC Announces 2017 Margretta Madden Styles President’s Award Winner: Janice Moran, MPA, BSN, RN

Rachel Farbman, 301-628-5062

Silver Spring, MD — The American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) presented its prestigious Margretta Madden Styles President's Award to ANCC's former Director of the Magnet Recognition Program®, Janice W. Moran, MPA, BSN, RN for her achievements and instrumental contributions to the Magnet® program.

Moran is known among her colleagues for her leadership, loyalty, drive and passion for the nursing profession. Among her many accolades is her dedication to raising educational standards and improving care in hospitals, through the Magnet Recognition Program®.

"This award is in appreciation of Jan's special and enduring passion for excellence, as exemplified by the Magnet® standards," said Patricia Reid Ponte, DNSc, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN, president of ANCC. "The growth of the program both in size and rigor are testaments to Jan's tireless work and will be one her many legacies."

During her tenure at ANCC, Moran helped the Magnet® program grow to a record number of designated organizations. Under her leadership, the program has expanded globally to recognize outstanding nursing services and exceptional nurse-driven patient outcomes throughout the world. Moran came to ANCC in 2002 and by the end of that year there were 67 Magnet®facilities. Upon her retirement, in June 2017, there were 461 Magnet® facilities.

The Margretta Madden Styles President's Award, formerly known as the President's Award, recognizes exceptional leaders who have partnered with the ANCC president to advance the mission, vision, and strategic goals of ANCC. Honorees are selected by the president and the award is given only when the recognition is warranted. Past recipients include individuals who have enhanced nurse professionalism and helped make ANCC the premier credentialing organization it is today.


About ANCC
The mission of the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), a subsidiary of the American Nurses Association (ANA), is to promote excellence in nursing and health care globally through credentialing programs. ANCC's internationally renowned credentialing programs certify and recognize individual nurses in specialty practice areas. ANCC recognizes health care organizations that promote nursing excellence and quality patient outcomes while providing safe, positive work environments. In addition, ANCC accredits health care organizations that provide and approve continuing nursing education. ANCC is the only nurse credentialing organization to successfully achieve ISO 9001:2008 certification.

You are now leaving the American Nurses Foundation

The American Nurses Foundation is a separate charitable organization under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. The Foundation does not engage in political campaign activities or communications.

The Foundation expressly disclaims any political views or communications published on or accessible from this website.

Continue Cancel

Item(s) added to cart

Go to cart Continue Shopping