Skip to content
Skip to content
Open navigation

American Nurses Association Elects Board Members

Veronica Byrd, 301-628-5057
Rachel Farbman, 301-628-5062
SILVER SPRING, MD –The American Nurses Association (ANA) announced today that the voting representatives of ANA’s Membership Assembly elected four members to the nine-member board of directors. Ernest James Grant, PhD, RN, FAAN, of the North Carolina Nurses Association, has been re-elected as Vice President. The newly-elected board members are: Treasurer Jennifer Mensik, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN, Arizona Nurses Association; Director-at-Large MaryLee Pakieser, MSN, RN, FNP-BC, ANA-Michigan; and Director-At-Large, Recent Graduate Amanda Buechel, BSN, RN, ANA-Illinois. Terms of service begin January 1, 2018.

The following ANA board members continue their terms: President Pamela F. Cipriano, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN, Virginia Nurses Association; Secretary Patricia Travis, PhD, RN, CCRP, Maryland Nurses Association; Faith Marie Jones, MSN, RN, NEA-BC, Wyoming Nurses Association; and Director-at-Large, Staff Nurse Gayle M. Peterson, RN-BC, ANA-Massachusetts; and Director-at-Large Tonisha J. Melvin, MS, CRRN, NP-C, Georgia Nurses Association.

Elected to serve on the Nominations and Elections Committee are: Thomas Stenvig, PhD, MPH, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN, South Dakota Nurses Association, who is chair-elect; Anthony King, BSN, RN, CPN, ANA-New York; Terry Throckmorton PhD, RN, Texas Nurses Association; and Elizabeth Welch-Carre, MS, APRN, NNP-BC, Colorado Nurses Association.

# # # 

The American Nurses Association (ANA) is the premier organization representing the interests of the nation's 4 million registered nurses. ANA advances the nursing profession by fostering high standards of nursing practice, promoting a safe and ethical work environment, bolstering the health and wellness of nurses, and advocating on health care issues that affect nurses and the public. ANA is at the forefront of improving the quality of health care for all. For more information, visit

For high-resolution images of the ANA logo or photos of ANA leadership, please click here.

You are now leaving the American Nurses Foundation

The American Nurses Foundation is a separate charitable organization under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. The Foundation does not engage in political campaign activities or communications.

The Foundation expressly disclaims any political views or communications published on or accessible from this website.

Continue Cancel

Item(s) added to cart

Go to cart Continue Shopping