Skip to content
Skip to content
Open navigation

ANCC Announces 2016 Margretta Madden Styles President's Award Winner: Sheila Haas, PhD, RN, FAAN

The American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) today presented its prestigious ANCC Margretta Madden Styles President's Award to Sheila Haas, PhD, RN, FAAN, a professor and former dean of the Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing at Loyola University Chicago, in tribute to her invaluable contributions to the nursing profession.

"Dr. Haas is an exceptional educator and a well-recognized expert in multiple areas of nursing. She serves as a powerful role model and demonstrates nursing excellence to all. I am so pleased to honor her with this award," said ANCC President Patricia Reid Ponte, DNSc, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN.

Haas is known for her work in advanced education, translational research, care coordination and ambulatory care nursing. Previously, she served on the ANCC board of directors for eight years, serving four of those years as treasurer. She is also the past president of both the American Academy of Ambulatory Care Nursing and the National Federation of Specialty Nursing Organizations.

"In the past three years, Dr. Haas has been our nursing research consultant at Northwestern Memorial Hospital, where she has helped transform our nursing research program into a vital part of our organization," said Kristin Ramsey, MSN, MPPM, RN, NE-BC, senior vice president and Wood-Prince Family chief nurse executive, Northwestern Memorial Hospital. "Not only does she guide and support our budding nurse scientists who practice at the bedside, but she does so with great passion and enthusiasm. We have an annual nursing research and evidence-based practice conference at NMH and she helps to ensure that we are able to showcase robust nursing research each year. We are so proud of Sheila for being the recipient of the Margretta Madden Styles President's Award."

Haas, a Fellow of the American Academy of Nursing, holds a master's degree in nursing from Loyola University Chicago and a doctorate from the University of Illinois at Chicago where she focused on productivity, clinical ladder systems and patient acuity systems.

The Margretta Madden Styles President's Award, formerly known as the President's Award, recognizes exceptional leaders who have partnered with the ANCC president to advance the mission, vision, and strategic goals of the American Nurses Credentialing Center. Honorees are selected by the president rather than by a committee, and the award is given only when the recognition is warranted. Past recipients include those who have enhanced nurse professionalism and helped make ANCC the premier credentialing organization it is today.

About ANCC
The mission of the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), a subsidiary of the American Nurses Association (ANA), is to promote excellence in nursing and health care globally through credentialing programs. ANCC's internationally renowned credentialing programs certify and recognize individual nurses in specialty practice areas. ANCC recognizes health care organizations that promote nursing excellence and quality patient outcomes while providing safe, positive work environments. In addition, ANCC accredits healthcare organizations that provide and approve continuing nursing education. ANCC is the only nurse credentialing organization to successfully achieve ISO 9001:2008 certification in the design, development, and delivery of global credentialing services for nurses and healthcare organizations. For more information, visit

You are now leaving the American Nurses Foundation

The American Nurses Foundation is a separate charitable organization under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. The Foundation does not engage in political campaign activities or communications.

The Foundation expressly disclaims any political views or communications published on or accessible from this website.

Continue Cancel

Item(s) added to cart

Go to cart Continue Shopping