Skip to content
Skip to content
Open navigation

American Nurses Association Re-Elects President

For Immediate Release:
June 25, 2016

Veronica Byrd, 301.628.5057

Jemarion Jones, 301.628.5198


American Nurses Association Re-Elects President

SILVER SPRING, MD  – The American Nurses Association (ANA) announced today that Pamela F. Cipriano, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN  has been re-elected as President of the professional association that represents the interests of the nation's 4 million registered nurses (RNs).

The voting representatives of ANA's Membership Assembly also elected five members to the nine-member board of directors.  Terms of service begin January 1, 2017. 

"For the past two years, it has been with great pride that I have led ANA, a trusted voice that represents nurses in the halls of government, protects and promotes nursing practice, and influences healthcare policy," said Cipriano, a member of the Virginia Nurses Association.  "Registered nurses are on the frontlines of providing lifesaving health care to millions of people each day and it is an honor to advocate for nurses and to lead an association committed to improving health care for all."

The following ANA board members were re-elected:  Secretary Patricia Travis, PhD, RN, CCRP, Maryland Nurses Association;  Faith Marie Jones, MSN, RN, NEA-BC, Wyoming Nurses Association (two year term); and Director-at-Large, Staff Nurse Gayle M. Peterson, RN-BC, ANA Massachusetts. The newly elected board members are:  Director-at-Large (one year term) Elizabeth Fildes, EdD, RN, CNE, CARN-AP, APHN-BC, Nevada Nurses Association; and Director-at-Large (two year term) Tonisha J. Melvin, MS, CRRN, NP-C, Georgia Nurses Association.

Those continuing their terms on the ANA Board are: Vice President Ernest James Grant, PhD, MSN, RN, FAAN, of the North Carolina Nurses Association; Treasurer Gingy Harshey-Meade, MSN, RN, CAE, NEA-BC, of the Indiana State Nurses Association; and Director-At-Large, Recent Graduate Jesse M.L. Kennedy, BSN, RN, of the Oregon Nurses Association.

Elected to serve on the Nominations and Elections Committee are: Amanda Jean Foster (Chair), BSN, RN, Arizona Nurses Association; Sabianca Delva, RN, ANA Massachusetts; and Annie Lee Bowen, MSN, RN, CPN, of the Ohio Nurses Association.


The American Nurses Association (ANA) is the premier organization representing the interests of the nation's 3.6 million registered nurses. ANA advances the nursing profession by fostering high standards of nursing practice, promoting a safe and ethical work environment, bolstering the health and wellness of nurses, and advocating on health care issues that affect nurses and the public. ANA is at the forefront of improving the quality of health care for all.

You are now leaving the American Nurses Foundation

The American Nurses Foundation is a separate charitable organization under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. The Foundation does not engage in political campaign activities or communications.

The Foundation expressly disclaims any political views or communications published on or accessible from this website.

Continue Cancel

Item(s) added to cart

Go to cart Continue Shopping